BREAKING: Obaseki’s Preferred Candidate, Ighodalo, Wins Edo PDP Primary Election




Mr Asue Ighodalo has won the primary election conducted by the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) ahead of the Edo State governorship election scheduled for September.

The keenly contested Edo PDP primary election was conducted by the party amid tight security.

The Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin, venue of PDP Edo governorship primary election witnessed heavy presence of police operatives.

Ighodalo defeated Mr Anslem Ojezua, Mr Felix Akhabue, Mr Martin Uhomoibhi, Hajia Hadizat Umoru, Mr Osaro Onaiwu and Mr Arthur Esene to clinch the gubernatorial ticket of the PDP for the September governorship election.

ALSO READ: Fejiro Oliver: No Sack Of Guns Was Recovered From Delta Commissioner –Police

Earlier, Mr Omoregie Ogbeide-Ihama and Ms Omosede Igbinedion had dropped out of the race, while the State Deputy Governor, Mr Philip Shaibu had emerged as the party candidate in a different primary conducted by a faction of the PDP.

It was observed that the Chairman of Edo State PDP, Dan Orbih and other critical stakeholders of the party were missing at the PDP primary where Ighodalo emerged as the party’s candidate.

TNG reports Ighodalo won the PDP primary election with 577 votes.


Click to comment

Trending News

Exit mobile version