Connect with us


Delta Assembly Constitutes Committee On Implementation Of Financial Autonomy




By James Odeh

The Delta State House of Assembly has constituted the Ad-Hoc Committee on Legislative framework for the implementation of Financial Autonomy granted State Legislatures.

Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori read out names of members of the Committee on Wednesday during a plenary session.

Rt. Hon Oborevwori said: “Distinguished colleagues, you will recall that the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, President Muhammadu Buhari on 8th of June, 2018 assented to the Fourth Alteration (No.4) of the 1999 constitution granting Financial Autonomy to the State Legislatures and the Judiciary “.

“In order for the House to implement the Financial Autonomy granted, I wish to Constitute an Ad-hoc committee to work out the legislative framework for the implementation of the Financial Autonomy “, he added.

According to the Speaker, Hon. (Engr.) Kenneth Oboro Preyor is to chair the committee that has Hon. (Barr) Omiragua Samuel O. Mariere, Hon. Anthony E. Elekeokwuri, Hon. (Barr) Orezi Jane Edna Esievo and Hon. (Barr) Izeze Rume  Yakubu Reuben as members.

Other members include: Hon. Emeka Nwobi and Barr. (Mrs) Lyna Aliya-Ocholor, Secretary.

Members of the committee are expected to submit their report on Tuesday, August 14, 2018.










Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending News