Connect with us


Delta Inaugurates Committee On Recovery Of Undeveloped State Lands



Delta Government on Tuesday inaugurated a committee on recovery of undeveloped state lands with a charge on members to work assiduously to recover such lands for reallocation to serious developers for the benefit of the state.

State Commissioner for Lands and Surveys, Mrs Kate Onianwa gave the charge in her office while inaugurating the Committee.

The Committee which has one month to submit its report has the following terms of reference:
To physically inspect all state lands in your respective Senatorial Districts; identify all undeveloped plots of land within the government layouts in your districts.

ALSO READ: Pastor Joshua Excited, As Wife Delivers First Son After Six Years Of Marriage

Others include to compile and submit all undeveloped plots allocated over five years ago to Honourable Commissioner and to report any encroachments on state lands irrespective of those behind such acts,”

Mrs Onianwa said the State Ministry of Lands and Surveys was committed to the all round and even spread of physical development of the entire state.

The Commissioner said the move was one of her Ministry’s effort at ensuring the actualisation of the Stronger Delta Vision of Governor Ifeanyi Okowa.

She said the state government acquired lands across the state for various uses such as residential, commercial, religious and industrial development.

“Exco discovered the subvertion and abuse by land speculators and grabbers who chose to hold on to the lands perpetually without any significant development especially in Asaba, Agbor, Sapele, Kwale, Oleh, Ozoro, Oghara, Ughelli and Warri.

“Exco frowned at this counter-productive practice and has thus directed that all lands allocated over the years and are yet to be developed should be identified, revoked and reallocated to more serious developers to the benefit of the entire state.

“You are therefore required to work like you don’t know anybody but you must carry out this task within the ambit of the law,” she added.

Members of the Committee include Delta Central Efe Appih – Chairman; Francis Pero; Surv. Friday Adjohweyo; Mr Refo Richard; Mr Samuel Ussien; Eruteya Okumagba and Oberiko Omoyefe as members.

Delta South has Mrs Peace Ogba – Chairman; Temewei Emmanuel; Okorie Godwin; Surv. Oyibo James; Barr. Isaiah Omoyibo; Pastor; Mark Sibe and Godstime Ughegbe as members.

Delta North has Mr Omonade Ogaga – Chairman while Surv. Yalaju Bemigho; Awoviebe Evi; Hope Idi; Chief Ziki Nwabunwa; Mr Ken Ifeanyichukwu and Chief Monday Efamefule are members.

Responding, Chairman of the Delta Central Committee, Mr Efe Appih thanked the Commissioner for finding them worthy to serve.

He pledged the Committees preparedness to deliver on the task as mandated.

Present during the inauguration were the Chairman, State Land Allocation Committee Prince Godwin Ogorugba, Permanent Secretary Ministry of Lands and Surveys Mr Power Anuku and top government functionaries.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Trending News