Connect with us


Edo Assembly Polls: PDP Wins Majority Seats



Edo Assembly Polls: PDP Wins Majority Seats

By Osariemen Idiaghe l Benin City

Edo state Ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has won majority seats in last Saturday’s House of Assembly Polls in Edo state.

The election which was characterized by tight security and voter apathy saw the PDP clinching 13 seats out of the 21 state constituencies results so far declared by lNEC.

The Edo state house of assembly comprises of a 24 member state parliament where the All Progressives Congress(APC) is said to have won 9 seats while the Labour Party won one seat.

ALSO READ: Agege: The God’s Ordained D575A Komatsu Of Delta State!

Results for the remaining two constituencies are being awaited with that of Egor constituency declared inconclusive by the Independent National Electoral Commission. A fresh poll is expected to take place in four areas of the local council.

Build up to the house of assembly election, Edo state Governor Mr Godwin Obaseki resorted to begging market women, artisans and other electorates for support and votes for the enthronement of a PDP controlled house of assembly to consolidate on the gains of his administration and the fear of impeachment by an APC controlled house of assembly.

Collated Results so far:

1. Akoko Edo1- PDP

2. Akoko Edo 2- PDP

3. Etsako West 1- APC

4. Etsako West 2- APC

5. Etsako Central – APC

6. Etsako East – APC

7. Owan West – PDP

8. Owan East – APC

9. Esan West – APC

10. Esan Central – PDP

11. Igueben – PDP

12. Esan South East – PDP

13. Esan North East 1- APC

14. Esan North East 2- PDP

15. Uhunmwode – PDP

16. Orhionmwon 1- PDP

17. Orhionmwon 2- APC

18. Ovia North East 1- PDP

19. Ovia North East 2- PDP

20. Ovia South West – APC

21. Oredo 1- PDP

22. Oredo 2- LP

23. Egor- Inconclusive

24. Ikpoba- Okha- PDP


APC -9 seats

PDP – 13 seats

LP – 1


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending News