Connect with us


Ndokwa West: For Equity, Justice And Fair Play, Bloc B Should Produce The Next Chairman




By Tracy Iloh
Ndokwa West is made up of two Political blocs: Bloc A and B. Bloc A is known as G2, which comprises Utagba Ogbe, Utagba Uno and Onicha- Ukwuani clans with five (5) Federal wards while bloc B is also known as G3 and made up of Abbi, Emu and Ogume clans with same equal wards.

The people of bloc B comprised of the aforementioned clans have been perpetually marginalised in elective political positions in the local government level since the inception of our recent democratic process. Take for examples:
In 1999 – 2007, Hon. Emeke Ukpe was Chairman, Ndokwa West Local Government Area for two terms, from bloc A
In 1999 – 2007, Hon. Ossai N. Ossai was member, who represented Ndokwa West in the State House of Assembly for two terms, same bloc A.
In 2008 – 2011, Hon. Felix Owete was Chairman, Ndokwa West Local Government Area from bloc B for only one term.
In 2007 – 2011, Hon. Emeke Ukpe, Represented Ndokwa West at State House of Assembly, from bloc A for a term.
In 2011 – 2019, Hon. Azuka Azaka, represented Ndokwa West in Delta State House of Assembly for two(2) terms from bloc A.
In 2014 -Till Date, Hon. Ifeanyi Osakwe, Chairman Ndokwa West Local Government from bloc A, two(2) terms.
In 2019 -Till Date, Hon. Charles Emetulu, is now the member representing Ndokwa West in the State House of Assembly from bloc B.
From the analysis given, it was observed that five (5) terms of Chairmanship positions from 1999 – Till Date, bloc A enjoyed four terms out of the five (5) terms while bloc B has only one term. In the position of the State House of Assembly, out of the six (6) terms, bloc A has enjoyed five (5) terms while Bloc B is currently enjoying one term only since inception.

It is worthy to note that, during the few occasions that the Transition Committee (Care-taker Committee) was practiced, the positions of Transition Committee Chairmen, bloc A has had two (2) time transition Chairmen, namely Hon. Aneke Ifemeni and Barr. Egri Okwuaji while bloc B has had it once in the person of Hon. Jeffery Azagba.

I hereby humbly and passionately appeal to His Excellency, Sen (Dr) Ifeanyi Okowa, who has been in the forefront, mediating for equity, justice and fair play in the democratic process in the State by ensuring equitable distribution of political appointments and elective positions with a view of restoring political appointments in the highly neglected political bloc, most especially on the elective positions since his assumption of office in 2015, to use his good offices, having seen that bloc A is currently rounding up her second term in office, to provide an enabling environment for bloc B to present the next Chairman of Ndokwa West Local Government Area.

His Excellency sir, with all due respect, I pray you not to rest on your oars, till there is a shift of Chairmanship position to bloc B (Abbi, Emu and Ogume clans).

I will also use this medium to appeal to the State PDP party Chairman and his Executive, Ndokwa West PDP Chairman and his executive and political stakeholders (the shakers and movers) to let all hands be on deck to ensure that there is a shift of the chairmanship position to bloc B for equity sake.

Iloh Anwuli Tracy writes from Asaba


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending News