Connect with us


DTHA 2023: Urhobo Peculiar Advocates Makes Case For Ewu Political Ward In Ughelli South LGA



On Sunday 24th of April 2022 at Prestige Hotel, Ughelli, the National President of the Urhobo Peculiar Advocates, Hon. Ochuko Okagbare called on political leaders, party delegates and necessary stakeholders to ensure that Ewu axis produces the next lawmaker to represent Ughelli South Constituency at the Delta State House of Assembly, come 2023.

He made the call during an enlarged meeting of UPA National Executive with members of the organisation who are indigenes from Ewu, Arhavwarien, Okparabe, Effurun-Otor, Olomu and Ughievwen kingdom all in Ughelli South Local Government Area of Delta State.

He briefed journalist of the organisation’s decision to stand with equity, fairness and justice by kicking against the purported re-adoption of Ughievwen political zone for another 8years to represent Ughelli South State Constituency after the expiration of Comrade Ruben lzeze’s 8-year term in office.

Adding that if this happens, Ughievwen zone will succeed in representing Ughelli South constituency at the State House of Assembly for 16years outside the zoning arrangement.

ALSO READ: School Resumption: Delta Govt. Expresses Satisfaction With Compliance

Recall, news went viral that some individuals suspected to be factional leaders of the Local Government had on Wednesday, 20th April, 2022 adopted Ughievwen political Zone to produce the next House of Assembly member despite its incumbency, an action described as capable of causing disaffection and breaching the peace among the locals.

According to him, Ughelli South constituency is made up of three political zones namely; Ewu Political zone, Olomu Political zone and the Ughievwen Political zone.

He maintained that these zones have been taking turns to produce members representing the constituency hence in all fairness and equity, it is now the turn of Ewu political zone to produce the next House of Assembly member in consolidation of the rotational arrangement.

He said; “Ewu Political Zone consists of Arhavwarien kingdom, Okparabe kingdom and Ewu-Urhobo Kingdom; Olomu Political Zone consists of Olomu kingdom and Effurun-Otor Kingdom while the Ughievwen Political Zone consists of Ughievwen kingdom.

“Late Barr. Pius Akpor Ewherido of blessed memory from Ewu Political Zone had two tenures and represented the constituency from 1999 – 2007 (8years); he handed over the baton service to Chief Taleb Tebite who also served two tenures from 2007 to 2015 (8years) before it got to the turn of Ughievwen Political Zone that produced the incumbent lawmaker in the person of Comrade Ruben lzeze whose two tenures span from 2015 to 2023 (8years).

“In all fairness and equity, going by the power rotation arrangement among the zones, it’s now the turn of Ewu political ward (Arhavwarien kingdom, Okparabe kingdom and Ewu-Urhobo Kingdom) to produce the next House of Assembly member, come 2023.”

Okagbare appealed to all Ughelli South politicians and indigenes to allow this power rotation have its way for the purpose of equity and fairness towards the development of various communities across the Local Government.

“All political leaders and party delegates should please allow this power rotation arrangement within Ughelli South political zones to guide the decision making process of who emerges as party candidate come 2023.

“Let Ewu political zone aspirants contesting for the House of Assembly position ensure that all political actors within the Local Government are duly consulted for the purpose of general acceptance and accessibility,” he added.

Okagbare further stated that Ughievwen political zone is currently enjoying more patronage in terms of elected and appointed political officers than any other ward in the LGA.

He asserted that by making crystal clear references to the current Federal Lawmaker, Hon. Francis Ejiroghene Waive representing Ughelli North, South and Udu Federal Constituency at the National Assembly, current State Lawmaker Comrade Ruben lzeze representing Ughelli South constituency at Delta State House of Assembly, Federal Government Ambassador to Thailand Mr. Oma Djabah and a host of others too numerous to mention.

He said, in addition, Ughievwen ward will also receive the council Chairman position immediately after the tenure of Dr. Richard Kofi who is the current Ughelli South LGA Chairman from Olomu Political zone; the Chairmanship position moved from Ewu Political zone to Olomu Political zone due to the power rotation arrangement after the expiration of Chief Paul Etaga’s tenures as Council Chairman.

The power rotation seeks to achieve political stability and development across various communities and as such individual interest should be abolished from Ughelli South political activities going forward.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Trending News