Connect with us


FUPRE Research Team Bags NCDMB Innovation Awards



FUPRE Research Team Bags NCDMB Innovation Awards

The innovative capacity inherent in the Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun was displayed on Thursday, 26th August, 2023 when three of its innovations were among 17 portfolio companies unveiled after a 7-month incubation programme initiated by the Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board (NCDMB) in partnership with the Nigerian chapter of Founder Institute (FI), based in Silicon Valley, California, United States.

The 17 successful startup companies were among 54 others that participated in the research and innovation-based training programme at the Technology Incubation and Innovation Centre (TIIC), signaling intensification of its capacity-building initiatives that birthed its Project 100 companies a few years ago where such indigenous companies were nurtured into big players in the oil and gas industry by way of funding and creating access to markets.

FUPRE’s groundbreaking patented innovations to be developed include pressurized water-driven micro-turbine electric generator (PH2O-GEN) that harnesses the potential of water as fuel for powering communities; an automated Oil and Gas Pipeline Vandalization Detection System, that eliminates pipeline vandalization and the Smart Multichannel Energy Meter – for metering multiple energy users and eliminating energy theft. 

ALSO READ: Tompolo’s Security Outfit, Tantita, Accuses Nigeria’s Navy Of Blackmail, Harassement, Misinformation

While the three portfolio companies that won the awards for the innovations were Rinartics Engineering Solutions Ltd, AICEMR Engineering Solutions Ltd and Ozeinics Ltd were awarded grants to develop minimum viable products.

Each of the 17 portfolio companies had an opportunity to highlight its product unique selling propositions, while signifying their desire for equity participation by prospective industry partners and investors.

Responding to the cheering news, the Vice Chancellor, Engr. Professor Akpofure Rim-Rukeh thanked the leadership of NCMDB for the initiative in creating the platform for the university to showcase its research products to select industry players and entrepreneurs.

He also commended the Research Team for the significant milestone, while promising to continue to give all necessary support to spur research efforts in the University.

Members of the dynamic and innovative FUPRE team include Engr. Professor Godswill Ofualagba, Associate Prof. Godwin Obruozie Uzedhe, Engr. Kingsley Okeoghene Enalume, Engr. Charles Kevwe Igbinoba, Engr. Aaron Okiemute Onyan, Mr. Thomas Akhalumeh, Mr. Solomon Ikpekpe, Miss Winifred Aideyan and Miss Angel Ogwezzy.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending News