Connect with us


Diri Wins Bayelsa Governorship Election



Diri Wins Bayelsa Governorship Election

Yenagoa—Governor Douye Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won the Bayelsa governorship election held on Saturday according to the results of the eight LGAs announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The PDP candidate polled a total of 175,402 votes beating his APC counterpart and closest rival, Chief Timipre Sylva who garnered a total of 110,107 votes.

Diri also won six out of the eight local government areas in the state with Sylva winning two.

ALSO READ: First Phase Leaders Of Amnesty Programme Hails Ndiomu On Impactful Leadership

The Bayelsa governorship election results are as follows:

Brass LGA

APC – 18,431

LP – 83

PDP – 12,602

Sagbama LGA

APC – 6,608

LP – 217

PDP – 35,504

Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA

APC – 5,349

LP – 22

PDP – 18,465

Ogbia LGA

APC – 16,319

LP – 57

PDP – 18,435

Yenegoa LGA

APC – 14,534

LP – 244

PDP – 37,777

Nembe LGA

APC – 22,248

LP – 113

PDP – 4,556

Ekeremor LGA

APC – 8,445

LP – 50

PDP – 23,172

Southern Ijaw

APC —18,173

PDP —24,891

Governor Douye Diri upon the official declaration by INEC will be re-elected for a second term in office.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending News