Connect with us


2023: APC Moves To Take Over S/South, Oyegun To Head Peace Panel



John Odigie Oyegun

The All Progressives Congress (APC) bigwigs in the South South have opened discussions on how to take over all the six states in the region in the 2023 general elections, Daily Trust reports.

Main subjects at a South South APC Leaders Summit held at Sheraton Hotel and Towels in Abuja were issues of internal party democracy and how to unite party leaders in the region.

A communique released on Wednesday, signed by the party’s Caretaker Committee Secretary, Senator John Akpanudoedehe said the meeting resolved to reconcile prominent sons and daughters from the region to work together in the interest of the party in the zone come 2023.

Adding that a 7-member Peace Panel headed by a former National Chairman of the APC, John Odigie Oyegun has been constituted while Lucky Imasuen is Secretary of the panel.

Other members of the Reconciliation Committee are; Chief Sunny Jackson, Dr. Maryam Ali, Dr. Sam Sam Jaja, Senator Clever Ikisikpo and Dr. Emmanuel Nsan.

ALSO READ: BREAKING: Police Station Set Ablaze In Anambra

Tasks of the Peace Panel are to resolve the differences among party leaders in the zone and handle other issues affecting the state chapters of the party in the region.

According to the communique, the meeting received two members of House of Representatives from Rivers state, Hon. Chisom Dike and Hon. Ephraim Nwuzi, who defected to the APC.

Part of the communique reads that “Party leaders must use the membership revalidation and update exercise as a tool for ramping up our support base and for unification of the party in the region.

“The meeting reiterated the resolution of NEC of the party on withdrawal of all pending litigations.”

Daily Trust’s correspondent who attended the opening session of the Summit, reports that the Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio; former governorship candidate of the party in Edo state, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu; Senator Eta Enang were also at the meeting.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending News